top of page

3.29.17


I am currently asking a question of how the doing of the dance can perhaps be a process of fufilling desire - unrealistic or simple desires, future desires or in the moment desires.

A short list of our wants on March 29:

I want my body to not feel so tight.

I want my mind to stop being so cloudy.

I want questions answered.

I want my homework to be done without having to do it.

I want a PB&J.

I want it to be the month of July.

I don't want it to be July.

I want the side of my face to not feel so weird.

I want a home cooked meal.

Splits.

In doing a thing (score), allowing desires to be with us and to attempt to fulfill or at least consider them, and hoping to reach a point of threshold and catharsis, some things that came up in reflection post-doing were:

A desire for more physical connection (but did not seek it)

Sweaters allowed for an architecture of the space, and for a softness to a hard world.

Gathering sweaters, windmilling them, explorations of a mermaid tail, was enjoyed as a practice, was enjoyed as movement for movement's sake.

Thinking about what you were going to do and then doing it (vs. acting on impulse)

Enjoyment of having face covered.

Splits (needed something to hold on to)


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page