top of page

4.9.17

sunday morning rehearsal

today had a lot of laughter

it felt productive in an easy way

i forgot what i was supposed to bring but it was fine

today it's feeling like we have a "dance" - a beginning that needs work, a middle that needs work, and end that probably needs work too.

today was a day especially where I felt very good about in the moment decision making, and where I felt even better about the creative support from my collaborators

- "maybe this thing I was going to insert there actually should go here"

- "I don't know how to move from this to this..I can't just start the dancey part now.." "yes you can, you can do whatever you want" "okay you're right let's do it."

- "what happens next..." "what if I just threw this" "okay great yeah let's try it" "okay yep that's it"

- "okay I think I know what happens at the end"

Choreographing is a lot of saying okay to things that come up in the moment, and re-editing them over and over after that. Choreographing is a lot of sitting with your moment of pause as the impulse to act comes to you, allowing yourself to wait and them immediately move when something comes.

"Do you know what the title is going to be?"

"Actually yeah, I'm thinking of calling it "we're gonna fall off the face of the earth" "

"I like it."

"yeah I like it too I think."

"Do you know what the costumes are?"

"I don't know yet!!! let's focus on rehearsal"

a few things moving forward

- scores feel better the more you do them

- watching things later sometimes it looks worse than you thought: this is good because then you learn that you need to be more specific with yourself and others about what you want

- things feel better when you talk them through


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page